MSL 2019 Predictions: Tshwane Spartans vs Cape Town Blitz


Mzansi Super League Today Match Prediction (MSL 2019): Tshwane Spartans vs Cape Town Blitz

MSL 2019 Predictions: Tshwane Spartans vs Cape Town Blitz

December 8, 2019

SuperSport Park, Centurion


Tshwane Spartans host Cape Town Blitz in a vital game in their bid to qualify for Mzansi Super League playoffs. A defeat will mean their future no longer remains in their hand and a win for Durban Heat in the following game against Jozi Stars will instead send Heat through. However, a win for Spartans will all but send them through.

Meanwhile, Cape Town Blitz too have faint hopes of qualifying for the MSL play-offs. A big win for them, followed by a win for Jozi Stars against Durban Heat will instead send Blitz through.

There are also chances of rain which is dangerous for both the sides.

Tshwane Spartans’s performance in MSL T20:

AB de Villiers is always a threat no matter how old he is and he produced another milestone in his last game. Dean Elgar and Wiaan Mulder have encountered a rough patch but they can always come up with big contributions for the side. They have the experience of Van der Merwe and Morne Morkel in the bowling attack, to go with the exuberance of Tom Curran and Lungi Ngidi, making up for a scintillating lineup.

Cape Town Blitz’s performance in MSL T20:

Janneman Malan has been one of the players to watch out for this season and formed a great partnership at the top with skipper de Kock. Liam Livingstone has been a good contributor in the middle order, making their side look pretty solid. Wahab Riaz and Dale Steyn bowling together comes as a great joy to the eye of the fans, not so much for the batting unit.

Steyn is bowling in beautiful areas and is once again showcasing the world why he is one of the greatest of all time. He bowled a match-winning spell last time and once again could do the same, given the rain gods permit.

Tshwane Spartans vs Cape Town Blitz: Predicted XI​

Tshwane Spartans

Dean Elgar, Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Heinrich Klaasen (C & WK), Petrus van Biljon, Roelof van der Merwe, Wiaan Mulder, Tom Curran, Lungi Ngidi, Lutho Sipamla, Morne Morkel.

Cape Town Blitz

Quinton de Kock (C & WK), Janneman Malan, Liam Livingstone, David Bedingham, Mohammad Nawaz, Aviwe Mgijima, Wahab Riaz, Sisanda Magala, Vernon Philander, Anrich Nortje, Dale Steyn.

Pitch and Weather Report today’s MSL T20 match:​:

Some thunderstorms and showers are predicted in Centurion ahead of this all-important clash for both sides. Of the four games hosted by this iconic venue, only one game saw a result. The track is going to provide some assistance to the fast bowlers and batting will not be easy in the first innings.

The chasing team won the only game that saw result at the venue in MSL 2019.

Tshwane Spartans vs Cape Town Blitz: Today’s match Prediction​

  1. 12 wickets had fallen and only 253 runs were scored in the only completed game of the season at the venue. Meanwhile, 12 wickets had fallen in the last meeting between the 2 sides. Expect another good day for bowlers.
  2. Only Farhaan Behardien and Albie Morkel have scored more T20 runs at the venue than Ab De Villiers.
  3. Only 25 boundaries were scored in the last game between the sides with Spartans losing by 15 runs while chasing 158.
  4. Tshwane Spartans are winless in their last 3 games- 2 defeats and a washed-out game – after staying winless in the first 6 games- winning 4 of them. Meanwhile, Cape Town Blitz have lost 4 of their last 5 games, a run that has seen them drop to 5th in the table.
  5. Janneman Malan is among the top 2 run getters with 358 runs and might cross the 400-mark in the game. He has hit 22 sixes already in 9 games. Meanwhile, Quinton de Kock is also in the list with 235 runs, 27 ahead of Liam Livingstone.
  6. AB de Villiers has scored 247 runs at a strike rate of 153.41 despite batting only 7 times. Expect him to continue the onslaught.
  7. Dale Steyn has 15 wickets in 8 games and is looking to finish as the leading wicket taker. He led Nelson Mandela Bay Giants’ Imran Tahir by 1 wicket after each team had played 9 games. Steyn is joined by Sisanda Magala, with 11 wickets, and Wahab Riaz – with 9 wickets despite joining the team late, in the list.